fullofhisgrace

learning one day at a time

Humble Savior October 27, 2011

Filed under: Ministry — fullofhisgrace @ 4:17 pm

I was reading in my Bible awhile back about Jesus washing his disciples’ feet (John 13). It came to my attention how important washing feet is figuratively and literally. Husbands and wives wash one another’s feet every day in big and little ways. My husband goes to work for us everyday and takes out the trash and rubs my head for me when I’m not feeling well. He puts my well-being before his all day every day in so many different ways. Washing feet is a big deal! It is an essential aspect to any sort of relationship…friendships, parents and children, even with strangers. Jesus, the Prince of Peace, lowered himself to a servants position to wash the feet of his disciples…including Judas. He already knew that Judas was going to betray him, and yet he knelt to wash his feet. I still have so much to learn from him! He was serving the one who would give him up to be sacrificed. I encourage you to think about washing feet….what can you do for someone else, even if you don’t want to? Jesus set a beautiful example here…I pray it won’t go wasted.

Blessings in Christ,

Jenny

 

One Response to “Humble Savior”

  1. You’re right, we all need to wash each others feet; maybe not physically, per se, but metaphorically: as you said, your husband works. Which is a sacrifice of time on his part, for you. I pray that God would help me find ways to bless others around me as well.

    Thank you for this post!


Leave a Reply

