fullofhisgrace

learning one day at a time

Purchased October 31, 2011

Filed under: Ministry — fullofhisgrace @ 12:24 pm

“Do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God?  You are not your own; 20 you were bought at a price.  Therefore honor God with your body,” 1 Corinthians 6:19-20

“You were bought at a price”- WOW! That is a powerful statement. Have you ever considered yourself as purchased? God paid a pretty steep price for us, his believers. He gave up his one and only son as a living sacrifice to atone for the sins of us. When we accept that Jesus died and rose again and we repent of our sins, we are granted eternal life and the Holy Spirit comes and dwells within us…”your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God.” This isn’t the end of salvation. We must live a lifestyle according to how God wants us to live. We cannot keep up the sinning and doing whatever we please. Sure, we will make mistakes because we aren’t perfect, but we should always be striving to become more like Christ: 1 John 2:6- “Whoever claims to live in him must live as Jesus did.”

The other day I began thinking about how the Holy Spirit dwells in me, and I thought about all the things I do, see, hear, and so on. Everything I do, every thought and action the Lord is there, always. When I watch a movie with sex, killing, stealing, cheating, or anything else immoral, I am doing so with the Holy Spirit dwelling in me. When I am around nasty curse words, I am doing that with the Spirit dwelling in me. I mess up constantly. What is important is how I fix it when I do.

God knows everything that we do, think, hear, see….we have him in us. “I AM NOT MY OWN!” This was such a revelation for me! I should not be watching movies that are questionable or listening to things that or immoral either. I should be striving to live an exemplary lifestyle all the time! Just a little bit of something like nudity in a movie, cussing, one cigarette, a beer….These things are harmful!

The other day I recalled a lesson that I had in Sunday school once….

My teacher began by asking if it was okay to watch a movie with just a little bit of sex in it. This was hard to answer because we all thought sure, just close your eyes…it would be okay, right? Then she pulled out this delicious looking pan of brownies. She cut them up and handed each of us a huge square. Just as we were about to bite into it, she said, “Oh wait! I forgot to tell you, I put just a little bit of dog poop in them, but that’s okay right? I mean just a little bit of something won’t hurt, will it?” I learned my lesson there and it’s one I revisit often. It’s easy to say just a little bit of something won’t hurt, but it will. In the long run it adds up and then you are watching movies that are much worse and thinking or saying words that God wouldn’t approve of and you have a hard callous on your heart where there didn’t used to be one. So I’m thinking that just a little bit hurts a lot.

The Holy Spirit of God is dwelling in ME! I am not my own…all is known by God! I need to be monitoring myself and living the lifestyle prescribed by the Word. If you are living in a way that isn’t pleasing to the Lord, I urge you to reevaluate what you are doing and get right with God. Live for eternity for there is nothing more important! I hope this post caused you to think about all the little bits of things that make up a big bad something in your life…

Romans 14:23- “But whoever has doubts is condemned if they eat, because their eating is not from faith; and everything that does not come from faith is sin.”

Blessings in Christ,

Jenny

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

