fullofhisgrace

learning one day at a time

Everyday… November 6, 2011

Filed under: Homemaking — fullofhisgrace @ 9:17 pm

Everyday, I clean my house….everyday we do the chores and then the next day begin all over. Sometimes I think, “will this never end???” But no…I stop and think, the work we do is pleasing to God.

Psalm 90:17- “May the favor of the Lord our God rest on us; establish the work of our hands for us- yes establish the work of our hands.”

Psalm 128:2- “You will eat the fruit of your labor; blessings and prosperity will be yours.”

Proverbs 18:9- “One who is slack in his work is a close relative of one who destroys.”

Working is a daily necessity, but in it, I should be praising instead of grumbling. I need to be turning my thoughts to the Lord as I work and thank Him that I am able to. I find it so easy to get caught up in the feeling of the never-ending cycle of chores and things that need done and list after list of to-do’s. It is so easy to begin feeling discouraged. Sometimes I feel like Martha…

Luke 10:40- “But Martha was distracted by all the preparations that had to be made. She came to him and asked, “Lord, don’t you care that my sister has left me to do the work by myself? Tell her to help me!”

Martha was missing out on so much because she was “distracted by all the preparations.” How often do you get distracted with things that need done. Are you missing out? I am slowly coming to realize that even if my house isn’t spotless everyday and even if I miss a few things on my to-do list, it doesn’t matter so long as I am not missing out on the everyday blessings God is sending me. When I’m not focusing on the Lord while I’m working, I’m not praising and I am closing my eyes to all the blessings He is showering… I need to focus on finding a balance between Martha and Mary. I need to honor God with the work of my hands.

This is part of why being organized is important. It leaves more time in my schedule and keeps me focused. Scheduling in time for journaling and prayer is essential…

Here is the organizational tip for today….

Plan four weeks of menus and change them around to keep variety in your meals. I also leave one night on each week blank to try a new recipe! This saves so much time when trying to decide what to buy at the grocery store…you can have lists made out in advance with all the foods you need for those specific menus. This also makes budgeting easier…Here is my personal four week menu plan…

WEEK 1:

Monday- NEW RECIPE

Tuesday- Pork Chops in Mushroom Sauce/ Asparagus/ Peas and Carrots

Wednesday- Baked Chicken/ Green Beans/ Mashed Potatoes

Thursday- Hamburger/ Baked Beans/ Cottage Cheese

Friday- Cabbage Surprise/Corn on the Cob

Saturday- Deer Burger Stroganoff/ Green Beans

Sunday- Shrimp Fettuccine/ Salad/ Garlic Bread

WEEK 2:

Monday- Enchiladas/Mexican Rice/Chips and Salsa

Tuesday- Spaghetti Casserole/ Salad/ Garlic Bread

Wednesday- NEW RECIPE

Thursday- BBQ Chicken/ Pasta Salad/ Bread

Friday- Fish/ Mashed Potatoes/ Green Beans

Saturday- Steak/ Gravy/ Pasta/ Bread

Sunday- Chicken Salad/ Fresh Veggies/ Dip

WEEK 3:

Monday- Pork Loins in Dressing/ Sauerkraut/ Cucumber Salad

Tuesday- Casserole/ Broccoli and Cheese/ Bread

Wednesday- Hamburgers/ Stir-fry/ Salad

Thursday- Lasagna/ Green Beans/ Garlic Bread

Friday- Shrimp/ Rice/ Sauce/ Veggies

Saturday- NEW RECIPE

Sunday- Deer hash/ Cauliflower/ Salad

WEEK 4:

Monday- Pork Chops in Cooking Wine and Onions/ Mashed Potatoes/ Green Beans

Tuesday- Fish/ Stir-fry/ Salad

Wednesday- Grilled Chicken Strips/ Rice w/ Soy Sauce/ Veggies

Thursday- Meatloaf/ Corn/ Fried Potatoes and Onions

Friday- Chicken Tacos/ Chips/ Salsa

Saturday- Turkey Breasts/ Cauliflower/ Green Beans

Sunday- NEW RECIPE

I hope this helps you as you plan meals for your family!
This week, I am going to focus on having more of an attitude like Mary!

Blessings in Christ,

Jenny Johnson

 

5 Responses to “Everyday…”

  1. Pam Says:

    Hi, Jenny! Thanks for stopping by! I chuckled when I read the first few lines of your post. Just this afternoon, my husband was cleaning and I was making an apple crisp and a mushroom quiche for a Bible study we were hosting in our home tonight. He asked me how I was doing, and I said, “It’s a lot of work, but I feel kinda happy knowing I’m doing it for our group for tonight.” You said, “the work we do is pleasing to God,” and I felt that this afternoon. :) Blessing, ~Pam

  2. I really enjoy seeing other peoples menu plans they help me get more diversity in my own. Yours looks awesome!

  3. Hello! I wanted to thank you for following my blog and leading me to yours!

    I too am a Martha that needs to be more like a Mary. When I get really overwhelmed by everything I get myself into, I think of the good wife outlined in Proverbs 31. It helps put things into perspective.

    Julie

  4. I love hearing your thoughts :)
    It’s nice to go through and read blogs that
    are written by fellow believers as well! It
    definitely brightens my day :)


Leave a Reply

