fullofhisgrace

learning one day at a time

Jesus Prayed…. November 9, 2011

Filed under: Faith,Ministry — fullofhisgrace @ 3:39 am

I was looking through my Bible tonight and the verses where it talks about Jesus praying kept jumping off the pages at me. In particular Luke 5:16- “Jesus went off by himself to a lonely place to pray.” This really spoke to me because I have not be good at this in the past. I just pray when I have the time or when I feel like I need to. I should really always need to pray…

Tonight I realized that I need to be making time to just sit with God to pray…when I actually have time to listen. I often pray while I’m driving, doing the dishes or folding laundry, but while I’m doing these things, I’m not giving all my attention to God. I’m shortchanging myself and Him. When I don’t make time for God, life gets harder. I don’t get through it as well and I become a person I don’t like very much. I HAVE to make time for God.

I’m going to begin setting aside a time and a place to just focus on my relationship with him through prayer. I’m not going to hammer him with needs…I’m just going to praise him and open my heart to his voice. Jesus needed the lonely quiet and so do I.

Blessings In Christ,
Jenny Johnson

 

4 Responses to “Jesus Prayed….”

  1. Sarah Says:

    Wonderful to hear you pray through the day. That is living a life of worship where Jesus is in our everyday living. Totally get needing to set aside a special time for prayer. I need to set more time aside too.

  2. Jo Bower Says:

    Lately I’ve wondered if the ‘praying on the go’ is good for the young, raising families time of life, simply because that’s about all you do. Forget scheduling your quiet time during nap time…. you’ll fall asleep too. God has a special grace and blessing for parents of young children. I’m convinced of it.

    Like you, I did it for years. But I continued doing it after circumstances called for it. I did it thinking no one was directly helped by my quiet time…. almost like I was being selfish. How wrong can a person be? Thanks for the reminder. Blessings.

  3. Jenny, like you, I want to make more time to be alone with God! May God bless and multiply your efforts! I know He is so pleased that the desire of your heart is to spend more time with Him…truly a reflection of His heart for you!

  4. Michelle Says:

    I tend to “pray on the go” and then have the “shortchanged” feeling too! Or the guilt even of not taking the time to do it right :) When I sew I mull things over with ME “talking out-loud” if you will but silently … before I fall asleep, when all is still and quiet, after a day spent of collecting & working through my thoughts & feelings that’s my time with my god to say what I need to say.


Leave a Reply

