fullofhisgrace

learning one day at a time

Friends November 10, 2011

Filed under: Ministry — fullofhisgrace @ 2:47 am

Friends are hard to come by, and true ones are usually impossible to find. Not many people love friends unconditionally. I know that I don’t have very many friendships like that. One of the friendships in the Bible that I admire is the one between Jonathan and David.

1 Samuel 18:1- “After David had finished talking with Saul, Jonathan became one in spirit with David, and he loved him as himself.” 

Jonathan defended and protected David from his own father, Saul. He shared (clothes, sword, etc) with him and sacrificed (the crown) for him. They even wept together (1 Samuel 20:41). This is what true friends do.

True friends are there for you the way Jonathan and David were there for each other. Friendship is deep when a love of Christ is the foundation of that friendship. Self-seeking is not a word that I would use to describe how they treated one another. They weren’t using their friendship for personal gain. Spiritually centered friendship is a beautiful thing and it makes me sad to think about how people have distorted this relationship between David and Jonathan into something that it wasn’t.

Everyone should love their friends as these two men loved one another. Jesus loved his friends in this way as well. He loves me and you this way if you have accepted him as your Savior. He loved enough to lay down his life on Calvary.

John 15:3- “Greater love hath no man than this, that a man lay down his life for his friends.” 

When Jonathan warned David and spoke out against his father to defend his friend, he was jeopardizing his own life.
I hope that I am as good to my friends as David and Jonathan were to one another and what a beautiful friend Jesus is to me.

What qualities do you seek in your friends? What do you want to gain from your friendships? Do you love selflessly?
I challenge you to examine the relationships you have with your friends and determine if you are loving them as you should.

Blessings In Christ,

Jenny

 

6 Responses to “Friends”

  1. Hi, Jenny. Good post! God has had me looking at how I love in friendships lately, too. Not that you need to go read it, but I blogged about Jonathan not too long ago in a post called “God knits” :) I think it is so neat when He puts the same thing on different believers’ hearts. I have become aware lately that I am quite selfish in many relationships. I pray God will continue His good work in me, making more and more room for His pure, selfless love!! Thanks, again. God bless you. – wordprocessor

  2. I will definitely go read it! I love how everyone takes different things out of the Word :)

  3. Me, too. Iron sharpens iron :) I love to hear how the Holy Spirit it stirring and teaching others. God bless you today.

  4. kiotta Says:

    Hello Jenny, thank you for passing by! I thing your blog is really interesting, I hope we will be friends in the future :) keep on posting!

    hugs by Kiotta

  5. Hello, Jenny!

    Thanks for following my site!

    If you are interested in more on Biblical friendship, I, too, have posted on it, starting here:

    http://katharinetrauger.wordpress.com/2011/09/13/to-be-friend-or-not-to-be/

    and here:

    http://katharinetrauger.wordpress.com/2011/10/07/ten-ways-to-spot-a-manipulator-a-mile-away/

    Hope you have a wonderful day! :)


Leave a Reply

