fullofhisgrace

learning one day at a time

Papers, Papers, Papers! November 14, 2011

Filed under: Homemaking — fullofhisgrace @ 12:39 am

It seems as though I always have papers everywhere!

Stacks of mail, bills, receipts, homework, newspapers, magazines….
All these stacks of papers keep adding up and collecting in places no matter what I do it seems!

I have developed a method for dealing with these annoying stacks of paper that I have to keep, thank goodness!

I put my important mail into a pile on the kitchen table to be gone through in the afternoon. I pay the bills and then file
the paper into a folder for that particular type of bill. For instance, if I have a cell phone bill, I make out a check and then put the paper bill into a folder marked phone. I have created folders for phone, internet, rent, electricity, water, health, dental, vehicle insurance/titles/registration, credit card, bank statements, missions/donations and whatever other expenses we may have. I also have a folder for receipts for things like gas, groceries and just anything in general. I like to keep track of where our money goes so I know how we can cut back if we need to.

Having folders helps keep everything in order and it also makes it easier to do our taxes. I just keep these folders stacked in a cabinet which works out nicely. If you don’t want to use folders, large manila envelopes work nicely as well!

My problem is getting these papers into their folders. If I don’t have time to do it right away, I make a stack in a bowl in the living room where we keep our car keys and things, and eventually I get tired of looking at it and make time to file the papers away. It doesn’t take long at all to file the papers, for me it is a matter of motivation.

Once a month, I go through the house and gather up all the loose papers and decide what to do with them. It really cuts down on the clutter that gives me headaches and it keeps me organized and knowledgeable about all the finances and other information I should know. I like to keep magazines in a basket and newspapers in the garage so Noah can put them in his hunting boots when he needs to!

I hope this helped someone :)

Blessings In Christ,

Jenny

 

One Response to “Papers, Papers, Papers!”

  1. Joselyn Romp Says:

    There are some attention-grabbing time limits on this article however I don?t know if I see all of them middle to heart. There is some validity however I’ll take hold opinion till I look into it further. Good article , thanks and we want more! Added to FeedBurner as properly


Leave a Reply

