fullofhisgrace

learning one day at a time

Household Binder November 19, 2011

Filed under: Family,Homemaking,Recipes — fullofhisgrace @ 3:05 pm

Hello Everyone!

Here is another November organizational tip! An organizational tool that I wouldn’t be able to function without is my household binder. I have everything in here- menu plans, shopping lists, budgeting information for everyday and for Christmas, meal plan ideas, recipes, projects I want to get done, herbal remedies, birthdays, anniversaries, receipts, important phone numbers, chores (daily, weekly, monthly, yearly), and anything else that is important to the maintaining of our household. It is so convenient because everything is in one place!

Organizing your binder…

1. Menu/Shopping List

In this section, I have the shopping lists which I have shared in recent posts and the 4-week menu plan.

WEEK 1:

Monday- NEW RECIPE

Tuesday- Pork Chops in Mushroom Sauce/ Asparagus/ Peas and Carrots

Wednesday- Baked Chicken/ Green Beans/ Mashed Potatoes

Thursday- Hamburger/ Baked Beans/ Cottage Cheese

Friday- Cabbage Surprise/Corn on the Cob

Saturday- Deer Burger Stroganoff/ Green Beans

Sunday- Shrimp Fettuccine/ Salad/ Garlic Bread

WEEK 2:

Monday- Enchiladas/Mexican Rice/Chips and Salsa

Tuesday- Spaghetti Casserole/ Salad/ Garlic Bread

Wednesday- NEW RECIPE

Thursday- BBQ Chicken/ Pasta Salad/ Bread

Friday- Fish/ Mashed Potatoes/ Green Beans

Saturday- Steak/ Gravy/ Pasta/ Bread

Sunday- Chicken Salad/ Fresh Veggies/ Dip

WEEK 3:

Monday- Pork Loins in Dressing/ Sauerkraut/ Cucumber Salad

Tuesday- Casserole/ Broccoli and Cheese/ Bread

Wednesday- Hamburgers/ Stir-fry/ Salad

Thursday- Lasagna/ Green Beans/ Garlic Bread

Friday- Shrimp/ Rice/ Sauce/ Veggies

Saturday- NEW RECIPE

Sunday- Deer hash/ Cauliflower/ Salad

WEEK 4:

Monday- Pork Chops in Cooking Wine and Onions/ Mashed Potatoes/ Green Beans

Tuesday- Fish/ Stir-fry/ Salad

Wednesday- Grilled Chicken Strips/ Rice w/ Soy Sauce/ Veggies

Thursday- Meatloaf/ Corn/ Fried Potatoes and Onions

Friday- Chicken Tacos/ Chips/ Salsa

Saturday- Turkey Breasts/ Cauliflower/ Green Beans

Sunday- NEW RECIPE

Shopping List 1

Shopping List 2

Shopping List 3

Shopping List 4

2. Budgeting

Budgeting is important because it helps you know where your money goes. I try to budget, but sometimes it is difficult because my husband is a construction/concrete worker and everything varies. Sections for budgeting are different for everyone. Here is a list of some of the things I include in our household budget…

HOME: rent, insurance

If you own your own home this may look different : mortgage, taxes, insurance, house payments, repairs

UTILITIES: electricity, water, gas/oil, cell phones/texting (or landlines if you have them), internet, garbage company

VEHICLES: insurance, gas, repairs, oil changes & other maintenance, car payments, license renewals, etc.

INSURANCE: health, life, etc.

BILLS: credit cards, student loans, etc.

FOOD: groceries (cleaning supplies & medications), restaurants/fast food

CHILDREN: child care, diapers, school supplies, clothing, sports equipment, etc.
We don’t have children yet, but if we did I think this is some of the expenses we’d have…I’d love to get some
comments on this section for sure!

MISC: hair cuts, personal care products, clothing, etc.

ENTERTAINMENT: movies, books, magazines, newspapers, concerts, outings, hobbies (ours are hunting and
scrapbooking), etc.

OTHER: missions, tithing, donations, doctor visits, dentist visits, savings accounts, retirement, vacation

You can make monthly or weekly budgets. I prefer monthly because then it is easier to keep track of the bills.

I also like to keep a separate budget for Christmas. I begin Christmas shopping right after Christmas because it looks better for our finances. It is easier to spend a few dollars here and there rather than to go and spend a large sum all at once. It also makes it less of a financial stress. I love to craft and so I make a lot of our gifts homemade (facial scrubs, bath salts, cookies, ornaments, etc.).

3. Recipes

Here is where I put all the recipes that I use the most. This is where I can find the recipes for the foods on my weekly menus. I try to go through and clean this out once in awhile because this is where I also put recipes I’d like to try and I tend to get a little over zealous there! I also keep several recipes for easy desserts to take to church or family gatherings.

I also find this a good place to keep a list of most used ingredients:

turbinado sugar-whole wheat flour-salt-Tony’s creole seasoning- dijon mustard-greek yogurt-milk-bread-eggs-brown rice- brown sugar-honey-whole wheat pasta-butter-cheese-potatoes-etc.

Keeping a list of most used ingredients reminds me to check the pantry and fridge for these essentials anytime before I go to the store. I make almost everything using these ingredients!

I also keep recipes for my homemade cleaning supplies here like laundry detergent, all-purpose cleaner, shower cleaner, etc.

4. Herbal Remedies and Medicinal Information

Here is where I keep herbal remedies like what different herbs and plants can do!

For instance…

Aloe vera: can relieve constipation because the juice from the plant works as a laxative.

Garlic: can prevent blood clots

I like to know these things because it’s nice to use natural things instead of medicine when possible. I am a huge fan of the Bulk Herb Store

5. Projects

Here is where I keep projects that I’d like to do! Some magazines have great ideas so I just rip out the pages that I like and put them into this binder…I have only gotten around to a few, but it’s nice to have ideas for rainy days!

6. Family Information

This is a great place to keep addresses, birthdays, anniversaries, phone numbers, and other important information like your family doctor and other emergency numbers. This is helpful to me because I married into a huge family and it is so hard to keep track of birthdays. This way I don’t have to write them in on the calender every year. I just make a heading for each month and write the date and the person’s name beside it! Creating this section of the binder is also very important if you have children and hire a babysitter. In case of an emergency, they will always be able to reach someone on the list!

7. Cleaning

This is where I keep daily/weekly/monthly cleaning lists.

DAILY 

dishes, tidy up, take out trash, wash counters and table, make the bed, one load of laundry, clean stove top

WEEKLY

scrub shower/toilet/sink, wash mirrors, vacuum, dust, sweep and mop, clean out fridge and pantry, wash out microwave, wash bedclothes, tidy up baskets

MONTHLY

de-clutter each room, clean windows, wash baseboards/vents, wash curtains/iron, go through clothing and give away things that haven’t been worn in forever, tidy up closets

 

 

 

There are so many ways to put together a household binder! I highly recommend doing this. I know it takes awhile to put together, but the hour or so that you spend doing it will save so much time down the road. For people that don’t like putting together lists there are many websites that offer printable lists and labels:

1. Printable Pages For Your Household Notebook

2. Top Cleaning Checklists

3. Family Finances & Expenses Checklist

4. Survival Guide

5. Make A Household Notebook {Ideas & Printables}

 

If you try this let me know how it works out for you! I love getting comments and suggestions!

Blessings In Christ,
Jenny

 

 

8 Responses to “Household Binder”

  1. Pam Says:

    I’d be lost without my household binders – large one for home with household, etc stuff and small one in purse with errand-type stuff. http://www.flylady.net has a lot of good ideas to browse through, too. She calls it her control journal. Great post! ~Pam

  2. Daria Says:

    You have definitely proven that our God is the Lord of order. Thanks for the practical tips.

  3. raediantphoenix Says:

    I just started working on a household binder-you have some great ideas. Thanks!

  4. […] Secret Behind Health And Vitality « All About EverythingGet to Know About Strategy for HivesHousehold BinderGet to Know About Strategy for HivesGetting Free Water from Water Cooler Companies […]

  5. Helpful information. Lucky me I found your website by accident, and I’m surprised why this twist of fate didn’t took place in advance! I bookmarked it.

  6. Some time ago I examine the website sporadically, but the very last content articles I’ve go through have been truly good, congratulations! I hope that the following are equally as good. If so, here’s a visitor for confident :)

  7. studia Says:

    Hi, i think that i saw you visited my web site so i came to “return the favor”.I am attempting to find things to enhance my web site!I suppose its ok to use some of your ideas!!


Leave a Reply

