fullofhisgrace

learning one day at a time

Sacredness of Sunday December 18, 2011

Filed under: Faith,Ministry — fullofhisgrace @ 3:41 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

I just wanted to publish a post about Sunday, since that’s what today is…

Sunday, the Sabbath, is such an important day to the Lord. He observes it throughout the Bible and sets an example for us in Genesis. He even goes so far as to include the Sabbath in his Ten Commandments. It seems to me like we still haven’t gotten the message.

Genesis 2:1-3 (KJV)

1Thus the heavens and the earth were finished, and all the host of them.

2And on the seventh day God ended his work which he had made; and he rested on the seventh day from all his work which he had made.

3And God blessed the seventh day, and sanctified it: because that in it he had rested from all his work which God created and made.

We should be marveling at the Creation that God has made on the Sabbath. This is a time to just awe at the magnificence of God. In Exodus, when the Israelites were in the desert receiving manna from Heaven for their meals the Lord emphasized the importance of the Sabbath.

Exodus 16:23-30 (KJV)

23And he said unto them, This is that which the LORD hath said, To morrow is the rest of the holy sabbath unto the LORD: bake that which ye will bake to day, and seethe that ye will seethe; and that which remaineth over lay up for you to be kept until the morning.

24And they laid it up till the morning, as Moses bade: and it did not stink, neither was there any worm therein.

25And Moses said, Eat that to day; for to day is a sabbath unto the LORD: to day ye shall not find it in the field.

26Six days ye shall gather it; but on the seventhday, which is the sabbath, in it there shall be none.

27And it came to pass, that there went out some of the people on the seventh day for to gather, and they found none.

28And the LORD said unto Moses, How long refuse ye to keep my commandments and my laws?

29See, for that the LORD hath given you the sabbath, therefore he giveth you on the sixth day the bread of two days; abide ye every man in his place, let no man go out of his place on the seventh day.

30So the people rested on the seventh day.

The people were not supposed to be working on the seventh day. I think as the years have gone on, we have become even more callous to the meaning, the purpose of the Sabbath. I know that I do not rest all day on Sundays. I am accomplishing things and working on the house or papers or whatever else I did not finish in the previous six days of the week. I do not use the seventh day as a resting day. I go to church for an hour or two and then come home to work on something. I do not use my Sunday afternoons to reflect on what I heard at church, or to go outside and just sit to drink in the wonder of his creation. Sunday is a day of refreshment for your spirit. I so often miss out on this because I feel like I have to be doing something or going somewhere. God knows what is best for us. He know what the other six days of the week are like and he is giving us a day to rest. This is such a gift, one that I hardly ever open. It seems that not many people in society observe it either. Businesses stay open, people skip church to go shopping because it’s the “only day they have,” and no one seems to be getting the Sabbath right. The Israelites were not even supposed to be preparing food on the Sabbath! I just wanted to stress the importance of the seventh day, a day of spiritual renewal and rest. I hope that this post will encourage others to begin viewing this holy day differently and observing it the way God commanded it to be. I am going to be striving to keep my Sundays holy from now on, and I hope you do the same.

Such simple words that hold so much meaning…

Exodus 20:8 (KJV)

 8Remember the sabbath day, to keep it holy.

Blessings In Christ,
Jenny

 

8 Responses to “Sacredness of Sunday”

  1. I think our bodies have a harder time because as Americans we have let go of our Sunday rest and replaced it with a to do list. When I take the day off, I know I do better in the next week. God said if He could make all things in six days and took a break on the seventh, and Him being GOD, how could we think to get ahead in just one short day!

  2. Homepage Says:

    Wohh just what I was searching for, appreciate it for putting up. 639606

  3. In some places we read about observing the Sabbath because of a reason: because God created the earth in six days and then on the seventh He rested. It’s not just about the rest, but about a six-day creation, too.

  4. Straight to the point and nicely written! Why cant everybody else be like this? 962978

  5. PDF Security Says:

    This is the first time I frequented your web page and to thispoint? I amazed with the research you made to create this actual post incredible. 636146

  6. Liz Mason Says:

    Hi Jenny this is a great post! I like the point that you made about how Sunday is a gift. I have to ask myself how am I so busy that I don’t rest like I should on Sunday. I’m going to organize myself differently during the week so that on Sunday I can appreciate and enjoy my time of REST. What a great way to honor God. Thank you for this post.


Leave a Reply

