fullofhisgrace

learning one day at a time

Resolutions and Lifestyle Changes December 26, 2011

Filed under: Family,Homemaking — fullofhisgrace @ 4:24 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

Hello Everyone! I hope that you had a wonderful Christmas celebrating the birth of our Savior yesterday!

Now, I am sure that some of us are already thinking about the next big holiday, New Year’s! Just a few days away! New Year’s is the time when people begin making resolutions and vowing to do things differently in the coming year. I am guilty of making these resolutions and not sticking to them…some that come to mind are, giving up fast food and soda, running ten miles a week, never let my dishes pile up, etc. These resolutions are always forgotten or just broken because I don’t feel like keeping them. A resolution is a firm decision to do or not to do something. This year I have decided not to make resolutions that won’t last, but to make a few lifestyle changes. I think there is a difference between a resolution and a lifestyle change because a lifestyle change is replacing old, bad habits with good, new ones. I want my changes to be permanent and to be a daily commitment. I am going to have someone holding me accountable to my new lifestyle as well. Here is a list of the lifestyle changes I am going to implement…

1. Spend at least 1 hour a day in quiet with the Lord.

I have learned that it is important to be quiet with God. I am constantly praying, but I rarely sit down to listen for an answer. God does speak to us, maybe not from a burning bush like he did with Moses, but he does speak and he does expect us to listen. If I am not spending at least an hour a day of quiet listening to the Lord, how am I going to know what he is saying? I think this is so important to my relationship with the Lord…we should be living for eternity and this is an important step in the lifestyle I should be leading. I think this quiet hour a day with the Lord is a good idea for all believers! Many people will say they don’t have an hour, but there are so many things we do throughout the day that are time wasters, Facebook, watching television, watching a movie in the evening, checking email…these are all very time consuming tasks…limiting time during these activities will leave time for things that are more important.

Proverbs 1:33 (NKJV)

33 But whoever listens to me will dwell safely,
And will be secure, without fear of evil.”

2. Spend at least 30 minutes a day in rigorous exercise.

I am terrible about this because I hate exercising. I never feel good while I am working out and I don’t feel good when I am finished. Therefore, I avoid this whenever possible! I have found myself watching my workout videos while eating breakfast…how sad is that?? I don’t know if any other people feel this way, but believe me it’s not fun! One way I am going to make myself stick to this lifestyle change is to keep reminding myself of the rewards that will come with exercise….pants that fit, more energy, better health, better balance of hormones, etc.

Proverbs 31:17 (NKJV)

17 She girds herself with strength,
And strengthens her arms.

Here are some articles related to exercise that I found interesting:
Exercise: 7 benefits of regular physical activity
5 Mind-Blowing Benefits of Exercise 
Health Benefits of Exercise

3. Put only good things on and into my body.

I have decided to eat only good things and to use things that will not harm me. I never realized all the stuff I put on that is putting toxins into my body, for instance deodorant is full of toxins! When you put it on, all the harmful chemicals seep into your body and can really harm you. There are many natural options out there that are good for you, baking soda, salt rocks, etc. Eating fast foods and foods that are processed are terrible for you, and I am going to cut as much of that out of my diet as I can. My lifestyle is going to change considerably in a positive way with this change because many foods can drag you down and sap your energy. I am looking forward to the boost this will give my immune system as well! Working in a school is a good way to get sick, but eating healthy foods will keep me better equipped to deal with the germs I encounter! Even products that I clean my house with can harm me and my husband. Breathing in toxic chemicals can also be very bad for you! The Bible emphasizes the importance of taking care of your body as well

1 Corinthians 6:19-20 (NKJV)

19 Or do you not know that your body is the temple of the Holy Spirit who is in you, whom you have from God, and you are not your own? 20 For you were bought at a price; therefore glorify God in your body[a] and in your spirit, which are God’s.

Related Articles about harmful products and foods:

Deodorant- Top 7 Ingredients to Avoid Healthy Eating Statistics: America’s Obesity Crisis
Ingredients in Makeup and Cosmetics that are Dangerous
Dangerous Household Chemicals

These are three things that I can do to improve the overall quality of my life. I am going to make these things a major priority and have someone hold me accountable to do them! Things are always easier with friends helping you remain strong in your decisions. I hope that my list has encouraged some of you to make some healthy lifestyle changes this year and to keep them in place for the rest of your life! My body is a temple of the Lord and I need to begin treating it like one! I would love to hear about your lifestyle changes as well!

Blessings In Christ,
Jenny

 

8 Responses to “Resolutions and Lifestyle Changes”

  1. Nancy Says:

    Do you know how many things you can clean with vinegar or baking soda? They are both great alternatives, and save lots of money, too!

  2. JoDee Luna Says:

    Jenny, thanks for following my blog. I’ve read some of your posts and agree with your thoughts. I also don’t like to exercise but really need to. You have a lot of wisdom to share.

  3. […] Resolutions and Lifestyle Changes (fullofhisgrace.wordpress.com) […]

  4. For learning to enjoy exercise, try to find something you enjoy doing. Did you know rock climbing not only exercises all your muscles and heart but is a great mental puzzle too?! Even when I’m exhausted, I love it!

  5. I don’t do so well with heights, either, so my rock climbing is mostly bouldering. :)


Leave a Reply

