fullofhisgrace

learning one day at a time

My Kitchen December 29, 2011

Filed under: Family,Homemaking,Marriage,Ministry — fullofhisgrace @ 1:11 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

Today, I tackled my very neglected kitchen for a deep cleaning, and learned a lot. I hope to never let it go this long again! Being a student and working and being involved in other activities can make it hard to keep up with housework, especially if it is closer to the bottom of my list of priorities. It seems like I put off things like cleaning out my cabinets every month because there is something more important to do. As I write this, I am drinking a hot cup of tea and looking at the last of the dishes to wash, and dreading getting up to finish them. I have been in my kitchen since nine this morning, and I’m still no where near done! Sometimes I feel discouraged when I am deep cleaning my house because it seems like there are so many little things to do, like wash baseboards and spindles on chairs, but then I have to pause and think about why I’m doing this. I am cleaning because I want our home to be a healthy, nice looking, haven for my husband and myself. God gave me the task to be the manager of our home and I am going to embrace it, even when I am not feeling fond of our dishes and laundry.

Proverbs 14 (NKJV)

 1 The wise woman builds her house,
But the foolish pulls it down with her hands.

Titus 2:3-5 (NKJV)

3 the older women likewise, that they be reverent in behavior, not slanderers, not given to much wine, teachers of good things— 4 that they admonish the young women to love their husbands, to love their children, 5 to be discreet, chaste, homemakers, good, obedient to their own husbands, that the word of God may not be blasphemed.

Cleaning my house is servitude. It is embracing my role as a wife, and it is pleasing to God when I am working. I’ve heard the saying “Idle hands are the devil’s handiwork,” and I completely agree. When I am not doing something productive, like keeping house or serving in some way, I am more inclined to fall into the temptation to gossip or to waste my time on Facebook. I struggle with time wasters, and am going to try to avoid them in the future. God doesn’t want me to be lazy and waste away my day. He gave me time, and it is important that I do something worthy with it. I am living for eternity and what I do with every day, hour, minute, second counts. I bet if I spent less time checking my Facebook, my kitchen would have been much less overwhelming today!

I have posts sent to my e-mail inbox from Time-Warp Wife and today was a very powerful article about 7 Thieves that Rob You of Time. It really got me thinking about my standards and where my time is going. I know that I am a time waster. Unfortunately, I cannot gain the time that I have wasted, but I can try from now on to be a better steward of the time God has given me. To be an encouragement to others and to invest my time in the spiritually uplifting activities, to be what God has called me to be, the manager of our home. I hope you check out the excellent post at Time-Warp Wife!

Blessings In Christ,
Jenny

 

12 Responses to “My Kitchen”

  1. Jo Bower Says:

    Sometimes I feel like keeping house and doing laundry is like washing dishes while people are still eating! But put in the right perspective, even it can be gratifying. I ache for men and women who work all day only to go home to a tense marriage and unhappiness. May God help us.

    • I know housework is the neverending cycle! But you are right, it is gratifying! :)

      • Mary C Says:

        Jenny – You are so right – but just want to caution you – housework can also become so time consuming that you are torn away from God’s plan. (I have never had that problem- my ‘idols’ come in different forms :-) There are those who have showplaces for homes – perfect with everything in its place all the time – and are not willing to open their home to others. Most people won’t know (or mind if they did) that the cabinets have not been cleaned out for months. But they will appreciate a kind word (even on Facebook) or a prepared meal served with love.

        • Wow, I never thought of that. Thanks for sharing your wisdom. I guess I just don’t know too many people who struggle with housework as an idol.
          The Bible is all about hospitality…looks like I will be researching this!

  2. I know I sometimes let myself get caught up in housework to the point I stress out over it. I have to step back and tell myself that there is clean, and there is completely over the top clean. As long as my home is neat and presentable and people always feel welcome, I am satisfied. I also find that cleaning goes much faster when there’s music playing or your cleaning products smell nice. This is a bit dorky, but I love doing laundry in the summer time because I love how it smells coming off of the clothesline. It’s the simple things in life that the Lord blesses us with that makes it all worthwhile.

    • I completely agree! I love listening to praise and worship music because it makes my work more for God and I feel his presence.
      I have been trying to use natural cleaning products and love the essential oils that go into them, especially lavender! :)

  3. The most important thing in your home should be the presence of God. If I pray before I start and ask for God’s help, it all seems to get done but if I try to control my to-do list, nothing gets done!

  4. alisonamazed Says:

    Your husband should be ashamed of himself! Housework is meant to be shared equally. You need to get your head into some serious feminist literature.

    • No, my husband is absolutely wonderful…he works so hard to provide for us, sometimes way more than the 8 hour day. He is very good about helping me when I ask for it and he is good about doing it sometimes without my saying anything. He takes out the trash and he even does the dishes sometimes! I am thankful for what he does when he does it. I know he is very tired after he works with concrete all day!

  5. alisonamazed Says:

    By the way, nice you want to follow my blog. It may also interest you to know,
    I was brought up in a Christian home by an ordained minister in the church of God, and he cooked and cleaned just as much as my mother. In fact, maybe more.
    I will pray for you and ask that God’s will be done in your life. After all, that is really the only acceptable prayer. Who knows, perhaps God led you to me so you can be enlightened and freed from a life of patriarchal slavery. :-) Bless you and may you get some help with that housework.


Leave a Reply

