fullofhisgrace

learning one day at a time

New Methods January 7, 2012

Filed under: Faith,Ministry — fullofhisgrace @ 10:07 pm
Tags: , ,

I was recently looking through the Women Living Well blog by Courtney and found some wonderful tips for studying and applying the Scriptures!

Currently I pick one or two verses a day and write them down in my journal. Then I write my interpretation of them and what they mean to me. Then I typically write a prayer or thanksgiving at the bottom of the page. I have also started writing what category the Scripture falls under off to the side so I can make a reference!

Courtney introduced me to the SOAP method, and I LOVE it! It is very helpful when thinking about how Scripture applies and it is a slow process, which I love. I tend to fly through my study and that does me no good at all! This is forcing me to slow down and look at and process what I am reading….here is how you do it!

S- Write out the verses (1-2) that you are going to study.

O- Write out observations about the scripture

A- Applications, how will you apply this in your life?

P- Prayers

I cannot believe I’ve never heard of this method until now! I hope some of you find this helpful in studying the Scripture. I know I do! Thank you Women Living Well for the wonderful tips!

Blessings In Christ,
Jenny

 

Leave a Reply

